Skip to content

Recreate the look: Anja Rubik does Jimi Hendrix

April 6, 2010

I have been absolutely dying over the styling in this Jimi Hendrix inspired shoot since it first surfaced on the blogs a few weeks ago.  If I could obtain the pieces from the below image, I would LIVE in them for a month straight- sleep included. It’s that good. Unfortunately, Ann Demeulemeester, Isabel Marant, Balmain, Dior – they’re names that are outside of  my current budget. Below is the look achieved for considerably less.

The integral part of the look is really the lingerie-like, silk and lace tap short combined with the blazer. The sequined vest could easily be replaced with a sequin scarf or tank at a much lower price point- both are prevalent in the marketplace at the moment, I just fell in love with this vest in particular (P.S. Lis recently scored a nude colored, matte sequin vest at H&M for much cheaper but I couldn’t find any images online). In any event, the accents to this look can be easily achieved. Military badges and medals are all over Ebay and can be added to the blazer as easily as chains can be strung around the ankles of the boots. Lastly, because I like this particular touch, I’d go ahead and affix some fake flowers to some belts that already exist in my wardrobe. Layer on the chain necklaces, rings and bangles and you’re good to go!

Click Image for Full Size:

1)Mango Navy Single Button Blazer – $93.85

2)Nadia Tap Shorts – $198
*Side note – Tap shorts must be tested for length. “Yes” to short, “no” to cheeks on parade.

3)Lucette Bronze Sequin Serenade Vest – $149

4)Joie Rockefella Black Suede Boot – $197.50

-Shelby

Comments are closed.

