Skip to content

Because I Said So

May 3, 2010

When it comes to dressing myself, the immediate gratification seeker in me tends to follow the fashion forecasts and couture shows, but dwell in the present and what I can wear RIGHT NOW. This has become particularly relevant in LA where the winters are so mild and the seasons so perpetually sunny that you simply look dumb attempting to wear your wintry wardrobe any other time of year. Sorry Fall 2010, in one ear and out the other. Allowing myself to get emotionally involved with looks that won’t be relevant for a number of months is simply torturous and leads to many a failed shopping expeditions as the picture in my brain of what I’m wanting to wear isn’t yet on the shelves (or seasonably appropriate-because it’s 85 and sunny, ‘self, you’ll be lucky to have cause to wear that jacket in the dead of January, dammit!’). Sure, I can wear my fabulously chunky cardigan…in the frozen food aisle. Lately I’ve been growing bored with my closet at an unfortunate rate, therefore the below really ought to find their way into it…


Sass & Bide Bullet Leggings $860, Alice + Olivia Sequin hot short $198, Torn by Ronny Kobo Gold Skirt $161, Gryphon mini skirt $103, J Brand Lightweight Skinny Jean $160, Eryn Brinie Baggie Trench Coat in Sky Blue $127, Equipment Silk Oversized Shirt $174, Golde Asymmetric Zip Leather Vest $595, Brian Atwood Loca Stud Suede Pump $795, Velvet Shape Shiftr Jacket from Pixie Market $171, Gemma Stripe Blouse-conveniently sold out at Shopbop, Opening Ceremony Long Cuff High Heel Sandal $484, Mini for Many Paulina Shirt in Party Dots $81

There was a time… let’s approximate that it was surrounding the ‘Britney Spears’ era, when if my apparel reflected stripper garb, it wasn’t of great consequence. The fact that Abercrombie and Fitch tended to offer sweaters and tops that were about 2″ too short in the torso just made them THAT much better with my Frankie B jeans that were conveniently 2″ lacking in the rise. Yea, I’m owning it. Now, creeping toward the end of my 20′s, I’m highly sensitive to anything that hints at stripper. While at a nightclub recently for a performance by a well-known female hip hop artist, these Versace beasts galloped onto the stage and I died on the inside. Lets note that she’d worn them with a revealing cotton jersey, color-blocked, bodycon LBD. I WANT to like these boots, I like platforms, I like ridiculous heels, I like open-toe boots, and I’m loving prints and textures on footwear – but after I saw them on stage I hated them…that is, until I saw them again, this time styled by Net-A-Porter and as Versace originally put them down the runway. Note to self…and you, stripper-esque notes are just fine…if you find a way to pair them with something with sophistication a’la Versace, or smarts a’la Net-a-Porter. If I saw someone wearing that entire Versace ensemble on the street I’d think “Wow, she’s got style”, not “Wow, what a whore” – and that is the fine line we walk…extra carefully in these 7″ heels.

Versace at Net-A-Porter

I could watch Bluefly’s Closet Confessions ALL. DAY. LONG. Screw MTV Cribs, this warrants a TV show. This beats one of my other favorite things ever, a past story in Instyle magazine about Kimora Lee Simmons’ closet-and I’m pretty sure we got an MTV Cribs tour of it at some point too…or maybe it was on her show (crap, that’s an admission that I’ve watched it), but I’m fairly certain that I’ve seen her give a live tour of the aforementioned closet as well. Go to the below URL for the full length videos.


Click Here For Full Length Videos

Dear Partner in Crime, this iPhone app would bring ease to those “Hey what are you gonna wear tonight” texts, and prevent the inevitable incidence of the inadvertent, matchy-matchy twin-dressing that we’re so good at.

Visit Style Book App

Just when I thought I was tiring of military references, the season finale of Project Runway left me lusting after buckle-laden pants and gators…and disappointed at Jay’s elimination before fashion week. Also making an impression were Seth Aaron’s zipped ankles (not shown)…I might feel my next ‘moment’ coming on.

Source
Question of the week: If one has downstair neighbors and hard floors, where does one jump rope?

I’m serious.

- Shelby

One Comment
  1. Nicole Cohen permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:49 pm

    I couldnt even make it all the way down the post. I want to say I ONLY buy clothes that I can wear tomorrow. That day even. FUCK “pre fall” its not even summer yet!

    And those boots are a fine line. Very fine.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

